Some Southern Influences

Last night I was not up for making dinner, so Theresa made dinner when she got home.  It was a quick and easy meal, but as always, really good.  Barbeque pork with cornbread and coleslaw.  I think this betrays some of our southern food background, if only a little.

Coleslaw: Shredded cabbage, carrot, rainbow radish and onion with mayo, cumin, yogurt, salt, pepper, apple cider vinegar, and a dash of lime. I think that was it.

I will admit that I don’t remember exactly everything that Theresa put in the meal.  I was a little whoozy and giddy at the time. However, I will say that Theresa had the fantastic idea of making BBQ pork from leftover fresh ham from Sunday.  She cut it up and cooked it in sugar, apple cider vinegar, salt, mustard, and homemade tomato paste (dried tomatoes rehydrated and blended until a paste).  She made cornbread and then another fantastic idea: make a BBQ pork cornbread sandwich.  She sliced the cornbread in half, sliced some cheese to go on it, and layered the pork very snuggly into the cornbread and cheese.

Cornbread BBQ Pork Sandwich with Coleslaw. Nom.

That was just plain good.  For dessert, we had the last of the strawberry rhubarb buckle or betty or whatever.  We ate it with maple syrup, and it was quite divine.  I think that I might request Theresa make some more in the near future.

Strawberry Rhubarb Oatmeal Betty with Maple Syrup.

Ah, good food, in times of need.  Although I’ve been a bit out of it being sick, things are looking up.  I’m feeling a bit better, and the weather is actually getting pretty nice if you ask me.  Now I just have to decide what I’m making for dinner tonight……

Local Sources:

  • Pork:  Jen and Pete’s Backyard Birds
  • Cabbage, Onion, Carrot, Rainbow Radish, Tomato, Strawberry: Red Fire Farm
  • Oats:  Wood Prairie Farm
  • Cornmeal:  Pioneer Valley Heritage Grain CSA
  • Whole Wheat Flour:  Upinngil Farm
  • Cheese:  Narangansett Creamery
  • Yogurt:  Sophia’s Greek Pantry
  • Maple syrup:  Cook’s Farm
This entry was posted in Meat Meals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment