One More Day….

So, I’m looking forward to the first Red Fire Farm CSA and also the end of our local food challenge.  This is not because I’m sick of local food, quite the contrary. It is because I’d like a little break from blogging…. for only a little while, maybe Theresa will pick it up for me.  I think that my posts are getting a little lackluster.  We’ll discuss changes to the blog tomorrow.

Anyway, the Red Fire Farm CSA will begin with a hot start.  Our temperatures tomorrow will be in the upper nineties.  Not sure how the delicate greens will tolerate that.  I will be trying my best to protect the precious produce from hot sunny weather, I just hope that I get a functional tent.  With tent and a handy spray bottle and lots of water I think I’ll be all set.  Just have to wait and see how it all goes…

Well, as far as food is concerned, last night I made a very quick dinner:  Herbed Chicken Salad served over Lemony Greens with Whole Wheat Toast.  Very simple and nice, using leftover chicken from our roast chicken on Monday.

Chicken Salad: Chopped Chicken thighs and breast, parsley, chives, scallion, green garlic, chervil, and dried thyme with mayonnaise, salt and pepper, and chopped rhubarb for a kick!

Lemony Greens: A mixture of spinach, lettuce, dandelion and red mustard greens, mixed with a dressing of a little bit of olive oil, lemon juice, and chopped lemon balm and lemon verbena.

The final meal: Herbed Chicken Salad with Lemony Greens and Toast. Simple, but delicious meal.

I think that Theresa and I are really getting into the Taza chocolate that we got ourselves this week.  Theresa made chocolate cupcakes while I was at a meeting and I got to arrive home to something quite good looking.

Chocolate Cupcakes with pieces of Taza baking chocolate on top.

And then the chocolate melted….

Chocolate Covered Chocolate Cupcakes. Man, life is good.

Happy Wednesday!

Local Sources:

  • Chicken, Eggs: Kate Stillman
  • Lettuce: Atlas Farm
  • Spinach, chives, : Red Fire Farm
  • Parsley, Honey: Silverbrook Farm
  • Thyme: Siena Farms
  • Dandelion and Red Mustard Greens: Grateful Farm
  • Whole Wheat Flour: Pioneer Valley Heritage Grain CSA
  • Chocolate: Taza
  • Cocoa Powder: Lake Champlain Chocolates
  • Rhubarb: Kimball’s Fruit Farm
  • Chervil, Scallions, Lemon Balm, Lemon Verbena: Our Garden
This entry was posted in Meat Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

