The Mother Salad Lands… It Must be Late Spring

The sun has finally broken through the mists and clouds to grace the earth with light and warmth and all that good stuff.It went from being a drizzly 50F to a sunny 70F, with today’s high in the 80s.  It makes the 15 minute walk from the train to our house pretty hot by the end.

Our fridge is (was?) full of fabulous springy things like lettuce, radishes, green onions, pepper cress, baby beets, and a few hang overs from the winter like two sad rutabagas and potatoes.  Laura and I had two different dinners, and I will present hers first, as I was not around to see it, and can provide no more comment than what is in the caption.

Laura's Dins: Greens with Radishes, Oat Groats, Sausage and Angelito, sprinkled with pepper and thyme.

Laura's Dessert: Oat Groats with Peanut Butter, Blueberry Jam and Maple Syrup

Laura has discovered her new love of whole oat groats, recently unearthed from our basement storage.  I will agree that they are fabulous, and she was kind enough to let me use them in my dinner, and our lunches for today.

Mother Salad!

Way back long time ago, we introduced our “Mother Salad”.  Sort of our version of the kitchen sink salad, it is a great way to clean out some lingering vegetables from the fridge.  Here, I put into a big pot of water 1 cup of lentils, 2 purple potatoes, 2 eggs and the root end of a bunch of baby beets.  While those boiled away, I chopped up one cucumber, a bunch of radishes and the rutabaga, which had been roasted a few days ago in hopes it would entice us to eat them.  I pulled the baby beets out of the pot first, then the eggs, then the potatoes and lastly drained the lentils when they were done cooking.  The beets and potatoes were also chippy chopped into bite size pieces.  Along with some oat groats, all of the above (sans eggs) went into a bowl with a healthy splash of apple cider vinegar, olive oil, mustard, honey, thyme, salt and pepper.

The beets dyed everything pink, but is was scrumptious topped with eggs and blue cheese and served over pepper cress.  It was perfect, absolutely perfect, for a warm evening dinner.  Its that season again, and I can honestly say that I am thrilled to be eating big bowls of veggies again.

Laura is headed out to Red Fire Farm today for a coordinators meeting, and should be returning with all kinds of goodies.  Additionally, I am going to the Copley Farmers Market this afternoon, so we shall see how full our fridge is tomorrow.  I’m so excited!

Happy long weekend everyone!

This entry was posted in Meat Meals, Vegetarian Meals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mother Salad Lands… It Must be Late Spring

  1. Jess says:

    Hi Laura!
    It was lovely to meet you yesterday at Red Fire Farmand talk about jams and jellies. I said I’d send you a link to the recipe I used for Violet Jelly so here you are!
    http://www.prairielandherbs.com/violetjelly.htm

    Last night I had the idea that this would also work well for rose petal jelly. I hope you get a chance to try it!

    • Hi Jess,
      It was great to meet you as well! It is really nice to hear feedback on the blog, especially really nice feedback. 🙂
      I appreciate the violet jelly recipe, it sounds amazing…. we just need to get our hands on some violets! Dandelion and rose petal also sound equally wonderful. This is great impetus for us to branch out in our preserving! Thanks again! I hope to see you in the near future.
      -Laura

Leave a Reply

