Starting to Swing Slowly

Well, I cooked my first meal since I got home.  That counts for something, doesn’t it?  I think that I am slowly getting over my travels.  I’m still tired and my body is still saying “what did you just do to me?!”  But hey, I have fresh spring produce at my utilization.  So, I’m sure my body won’t hate me for too long.

Last night’s meal was inspired by the fact that Theresa had thawed some ground lamb, and we needed some dinner that would transport well for me and my evening work schedule.

Wednesday Dinner: Lamb 'kibbeh' toast, greens, cucumber, and radish with tahini and mint yogurt sauce.

The lamb kibbeh was simply a creation of our own.  I took about 1/3 cup of walnuts and 3 slices of bread and ground them into crumbs in the food processor. Then I added a leek and two green garlic stalks and it made an eye stinging paste.

Bread, nut and Allium paste. Not quite appetizing, but it smelled great.

I added a good bit of cumin (maybe 2 tsp), 1/2 tsp of chili powder, 1/2 tsp of ras el hanout spice powder, salt and pepper.  Then I mixed in the ground lamb, and made little balls of lamb paste.  I baked them at 375 F for about 30-40 minutes and little middle eastern spiced lamb balls were created.  They were really good!

Spiced Lamb Balls, veggies and sauces.

I made a quick yogurt and mint sauce (yogurt plus some finely chopped mint) and tahini sauce (tahini, lemon juice, green garlic, olive oil, salt and water).  The veggies were lettuce, peppercress greens, sliced cucumber and radishes.  It all actually came together quite nicely.  The yogurt mint sauce helped bite the spiciness of the radishes and peppercress if they got a little overpowering and went well with the lettuce.  It almost has inspired me to make these into middle eastern spring lettuce wraps…… which I might attempt, sometime soon.  But of course, probably not before we have a picnic of english tea sandwiches (we have cucumber and radishes….. who wouldn’t?).

So, things are beginning to get swinging, not quite in the swing of things yet.  But, everything takes time, like the growth of summer veggies….. I am so excited that all the veggies are on their way.

Happy Thursday!

Local Sources:

This entry was posted in Meat Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

