Asparagus already…. thank god!

Yesterday I got to do some grocery shopping at Allandale Farm (yes their farmstand has been open since April) because I can technically walk to the farm from my home.  And what lovelies I did find!

Allandale's homegrown Asparagus, Rhubarb, Spinach and Lettuce, also Eggs, yogurt and cream cheese. Nom.

Nothing says spring quite like asparagus and rhubarb.

So I set about combining these spring goodies into a nice dinner.  I had eggs, asparagus, cheese, and spinach, along with fresh herbs…… fresh pasta with asparagus, egg yolk sauce, and fresh herbs served over spinach.  Indeed, that is what I made.  I also wanted to make the pasta a little special to celebrate these ingredients, so I tried my hand at making hand shaped penne (more like garganelli).

Handmade whole wheat penne.

I blanched the asparagus, cooked the pasta, beat five egg yolks with a little bit of butter and some shredded Italian Grace Cheese.  I mixed the pasta and asparagus with the egg mixture, added some fresh chopped tarragon from our garden, salt and pepper. By the time I got there, Theresa was home, and I had her mince some lemon zest to garnish the dish.  And bam, a spring themed meal finally on our table.

Spring Penne with Asparagus and Tarragon served over fresh spinach.

The resulting meal was fresh and springy.  Just delightful.  The asparagus was so tender and sweet, simply divine. It made us both amazingly happy.

For dessert, we could have used rhubarb, but we were pretty busy, so we decided to save that for later.  We had an old standard, yogurt with toasted walnuts and honey.

Yogurt, Toasted Walnuts and Honey.

We also had a bit of time this morning to make a bigger breakfast.  I made whole wheat and rye pancakes (made with lots of egg whites!) and served it with cream cheese and blackberry jam.

Rye pancakes with Cream Cheese and Blackberry Jam..... I think I'm somewhere channeling a craving for blintzes...

So, that’s our food update.  Lots of exciting things.  Asparagus.  I hope we get more this weekend.  Nom.

Happy Thursday Everyone!

Local Sources:

  • Asparagus, Spinach, Eggs: Allandale Farm
  • Whole Wheat and Rye Flours: Pioneer Valley Heritage Grain CSA
  • Cream Cheese: Champlain Valley Creamery
  • Butter:Vermont Creamery
  • Tarragon: Our garden
  • Blackberry Jam:  Olde Norse Farm PYO, our jamming
  • Yogurt: Narragansett Creamery
  • Italian Grace Cheese: Chase Hill Farm
This entry was posted in Vegetarian Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Asparagus already…. thank god!

  1. Peg says:

    It all looks so fresh and delicious! Thanks for your continual inspiration!

  2. lorraine says:

    It is great you have fresh herbs from your garden. Nothing says spring like asparagus, peas and fiddle heads. Yeah spring!!!

    • Yay spring indeed! And these fiddleheads were far and away better than the fiddle heads we had last year. And the asparagus was from Red Fire Farm, and was so delicious it hurt.

      Spring makes me happy, and I can’t wait for strawberries and fresh peas!

Leave a Reply

