Little Parade of Theresa’s Eats

Here a little parade of my eats, some pretty non-local, but a lovely treat while Laura was gone.  So, I bought four entirely non-local items to spice up my week.  Half of them I loved every minute of, the other two reaffirmed my feelings of “eh, our food is better.” I bought a bag of chips, an Amy’s Cheeseless Pizza, a bunch of bananas and a carton of almond milk.  The chips and pizza were good, but I actually think I prefer oven roasted potato fries and our homemade pizza.  The bananas and almond milk made me happy as as a clam, and totally hit the spot.

Anyway, on to pictures!

The first night I had cheesy toast with the last of our kale in a lovely massaged salad

Here is the Amy's pizza, jazzed up with some the last of our mozzarella and some spinach, it was tasty, but not nearly as good as our homemade stuff. That said, its not often we get artichokes, so I picked those off and ate them seperately.

Dessert after the pizza was the last of Laura's rhubarb bread with a dollop of mascarpone cheese and a drizzle of maple syrup. Om-nom. But oh my god is this a terrible picture.

Dinner thursday was the last of our Jen and Pete's pullet eggs with frozen veggie-hash from our pasty making event with cheese and a slice of toast.

Friday's dinner centered around these two rare and nearly-forbidden foods. When I let myself go groery shopping, I told myself I could get four things, and the bananas kept saying "You don't want swiss chocolate, you want me! Ignore that jar of almond butter, you want me!" So I went with the 'naners.

The bananas were well received in the house, and Marion keeps getting exited every time she sees them. She likes the mushy part that people normally eat, but she also really digs the fiber left on the inside of the skin, too. Its strange, but we don't fight over the last bit of my eatable banana.

Friday evening was actually quite warm, and I had a killer head-ache. So, I made two sets of smoothies. The strange green looking on has bananas, strawberries, ginger, the last spinach, almond milk and coconut oil in it. It was really good, and totally hit the spot. The spinach didn't make it taste strange at all, even if the color was a little different. The more normal looking smoothie is banana, strawberry, raspberry, almond milk, bee pollen and touch of honey. It was so good, too. It surprisingly was enough, and I am not at all hungry this morning.

Today, Laura gets in late, and I am volunteering at the MIT open house day.  We are being provided lunch, so I am going to go with that for the day.  The weather here is really starting to get nice, but the pollen is really starting to come down.  I think my headache might have been heat and allergy related, even though I don’t really ever suffer from severe allergies from pollen.  There is just so much of it, it can get to you after a while.

I am happy Laura will be home, the cats will be happy, too.  I hope you all have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Vegetarian Meals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little Parade of Theresa’s Eats

  1. cheryl says:

    I am also glad Laura will be home and I hope all is well. Enjoy spring, one of the best seasons, a time for renewal.

  2. Lorraine says:

    I’m not surprised you like your pizza better as both of you are really good making dough & pizza is really about a good dough base. Frozen dough never stands up. Homecooked foods will always bring comfort. I am glad Laura is coming home & hope she does nit have to travel back & forth too often as traveling with worry gets tiring.

Leave a Reply

