What do you do with bean mush?

Okay, so sometimes you have one of those days.  For the first time in a long while, the crock-pot did not come through for me.  I set up some money beans to cook on low for part of the day, and then I arrived home to a strange bean mush. Not what I was expecting.  I was hoping for nice tender beans. Not mush.  So, what do you do?  Well…. some improvisation, inspiration from Niki and David Goldbeck and a strange northern European food service…. well, you come up with a good but interesting meal.

The beans were pureed in my food processor with spices to make a very interesting paste.

I pureed the beans, added cumin, ground coriander, a cilantro cube, garlic, ginger, chili powder, and za’atar.  I added salt, an egg, and some cornmeal to make it less wet.  Then I rolled the paste into little loaves, coating them with a cornmeal/salt/cumin mixture.

Little cornmeal cumin coated bean loaves.

I baked them at 375 until done…. I wasn’t sure what that was going to look like..  While they baked, I made a garlicky cilantro spelt berry pilaf.

Mmm... garlic.

This was definitely becoming a middle eastern inspired dish… So, I finely chopped some carrot and radish.

Black Radish. Intensely beautiful.

I made a tahini dipping sauce, with tahini, garlic, lemon juice and olive oil, and broke out some feta.

The baked spiced bean loaves.

The bean loaves came out looking sort of like mexican wedding cookies, but actually were a pretty tasty savory treat.

I combined all of the fixings and we had a very nice (bastardized) middle eastern inspired meal out on our balcony in very nice weather.

Spiced Bean Loaves, Garlic Pilaf, Chopped Carrot and Radish, Feta cheese, Pickled Beets, and Tahini Dipping Sauce.

And that is what you do with bean mush.  Or at least one good idea.  It was a very nice meal outside in the lovely weather.  Unfortunately, we will not be so fortunate tonight, with it being so rainy and cold.

Dessert was not such a problem solving task.  We had frozen peaches and ricotta. Therefore, we had a Ginger Peach Crumble with Red Walnuts and Maple Sweetened Ricotta.

Ginger-Peach Oat Crumble with Red Walnuts. Served with maple sweetened ricotta.

We’re getting through our frozen stores, slowly but surely.  Though, sooner than later, we’ll be digging into some fresh spring fodder… asparagus, fiddleheads, peas, green garlic, peas, arugula, strawberries.  Oh, I cannot wait! But we have to get through a little more crappy weather until then.

Happy Wednesday!

Local Sources:

This entry was posted in Desserts, Vegetarian Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

