Meat Pies, they’re Irish, right?

So, yesterday was another fateful day of two different meals.  I had to work very late, and therefore got to pack myself a dinner, while Theresa got to make a whole meal to herself.  Since it was St. Patrick’s day, I think we both ended up making meals that are associated with Irish cuisine.  If only in our own minds.  My packed dinner was sort of like the dinner version of a ploughman’s lunch: it entailed a beet blue cheese salad, whole wheat irish soda bread, a hard-boiled egg, cheese, pickles, a radish and an apple.

Roasted Beet salad, with blue cheese, arugula and other greens, with a healthy dose of red currant vinegar.

Irish Soda Bread (so good!) radish, cheese, and apple.

The ploughman’s lunch is definitely associated with United Kingdom cuisine, but interestingly, its history is a little muddled.  Apparently the popularity of the ploughman’s lunch was partly due to some marketing ploys of the UK Cheese council to encourage people to eat cheese as a part of lunch instead of meat during the 1950’s.  This apparently was a big push since the UK had undergone some serious cheese rationing during the world wars, and people simply adjusted to having less cheese in their diets. The cheese industry wanted to reverse this trend and through various means the idea of the ploughman’s lunch, a lunch with cheese as a major component, caught on.

Meatless lunch, I’m there.  Even if it was a cheese council’s agenda.  It is still a pretty good combination.

Theresa on the other hand went down a very meat-ful direction. She made a lovely meat pie with a side of butter braised cabbage.  Meat pies are by no means only an Irish food.  It is a meal that is obviously pretty popular in the UK at present, but there are many fun incarnations of meat pies across the world.  This pie was like a more traditional British meat-pie.

Meat pie for the soul.

Since I was not around to watch this being made, I’m not entirely sure what she did.  I know she used the same whole wheat pie crust that she had made for the beet tart last night.

The inner goodness of the meat pie.

The filling contained ground beef, rutabaga, carrots, onion, and Theresa’s equivalent of tomato paste (dried tomatoes rehydrated and pureed) along with rosemary, salt and pepper.

The whole thing was served with a side of butter braised cabbage.

I unfortunately only got a little bit of this when I came home, since it was too late in the day to eat.  But luckily, I treated myself to some for breakfast this morning.  Meat pie for breakfast?  Indeed.

Meat pie for breakfast.

I have to say first off, the meat pie was really good.  And then secondly, meat pie should be considered as a regular breakfast food possibility.  It is just the right amount of stick to your ribs type of breakfast food.  I treated myself to second helpings.

Meat pie.

I think I might be helping myself to meat pie for lunch and dinner today.  It was that good.  Maybe Theresa will share the recipe.

I hope everyone else had some wonderful Irish-themed food and fun St. Patrick’s day festivities.

Local Sources:

This entry was posted in Meat Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meat Pies, they’re Irish, right?

  1. Fantastic post which makes my tummy rumble….that salad looks fabulous.
    What do you get when you cross a ploughmans with a meat pie?
    A pasty, of course. These, too, can be meatless and they are awesome to take to work.

    • Hi Kate,
      Glad you liked the post. I have to agree, we haven’t had a pasty in a long long time, sort of forgot about them (gasp!). Unfortunate too, since they are quite tasty, both meaty and meatless. That just might be the inspiration for a soon-to-be meal. Thanks!
      -Laura

  2. this could cause controvery in my house ..you see my mum is irish and she would call this an Irish pie…while my dad is scottish and here in scotland We would definetly refere to this as a scotch pie….if it was good..it doesnt really matter…ELiza Keating

    • Hi Eliza,
      I have to agree, a meat pie is a meat pie. If it’s really good, it’s an international meat pie- epic in its influences and taste. Though, we did use rutabaga’s in this one, so does that make it tend slightly to the scotch side?

      I would imagine having an Irish mum and Scottish dad you had some wonderful cuisine growing up.

  3. blackwatertown says:

    All looks very good. Who cares whether it’s Irish (like me) Or Scottish if it tastes as good as it looks.

Leave a Reply

