Alternative Crust Pizza Attempt 1

Remember back a bit, to when we made whole-grain flat ‘bread’ of sorts?  I mentioned we had thought it would make a great pizza crust.  So, last night, we gave it our first try.

Whole Grain Pizza being assembled after the pizza crust was baked.

It was really promising at the beginning, with the flatbread part firming up nicely.  I think, though, that a later shortcoming was in part the fact that I did not flip the whole crust over to firm up the other side.  It looks pretty, with sauce made from canned tomatoes cooked down with two medium onions, garlic, thyme, rosemary and oregano, spinach from our CSA share, and Atwell’s Gold cheese.

Really tasty mellow slaw: 3 carrots, 1 kohlrabi, 1/2 cup of sliced cabbage, 1/2 a watermelon radish, tossed with Real Pickles, garlic pickle juice (I'd highly recommend!) canola oil and pepper. Nom.

While the pizza cooked, Laura put together a lovely slaw.  The Real Pickles Garlic Dill Pickle juice was heavenly, and nice way to stretch the jar (since I ate most of them in two days).  This standard slaw is what gets our ‘salty-crunchy’ cravings in line during the winter, and it totally blew potato chips out of the water with the pickle juice.  I think I might need another jar (or five [I just checked, and they sell 1 gallon buckets of pickles.  As much as I want, I don’t think it will fit into our fridge.]) of these pickles really soon.  They are so tongue-tinglingly addictive.

Ta-dah!  The final product with leftover rabbit, spinach and cheese on a whole grain crust.  It was tasty!  I had my doubts about the rabbit and the tomato going well together, but several Italian recipes combine rabbit and tomato, so I gave it a go.  The two sweet flavors blend really nicely, and the tomato enhances the faint gamy taste of the rabbit, elevating it above “sort of like chicken and pork combined”.  I want to try and make this totally over the top recipe I found that involves something like half a pound of butter, tomato paste and 8 cups of marsala wine with rabbit and pasta.  When we have guests over, or some special occasion, I think I might.

However, the crust totally melted into the sauce, making serving the pizza a less of a ‘pizza’ experience, and more of a pizza-inspired casserole experience.  So, how to avoid this problem the next time we make this?

I have a few ideas, to be played with in the future.  First, the crust/cracker recipe calls for you to knead the grain/flour mixture until a smooth dough forms.  Hmmm, I just dumped the whole mess on the parchment and made a round.  Maybe I’ll have to get my hands (or the stand mixer, more likely) dirty next time.  That will bring out the gluten in the flour and make an actual doughier mixture, which might stand up to sauce better.  Second, most pizza crusts I’ve made have a brushing of olive oil to keep some of the the tomato sauce liquid from soaking into the crust.  No olive oil here (some new years resolutions are still struggling along), and I love tomato sauce, so it was bathed in a good dumping of lovely sauce.  Three, I didn’t bake the assembled pizza hot enough, so it stayed in the oven longer than it probably should have.

It was delicious, and I have no qualms with trying again in the near future to try and get this closer to a regular pizza crust, even if I know we will always have to use a knife and fork.  I just want to be able to serve it without it melting into pieces!

Dessert of oatmeal pudding and honey

Simple dessert of a soft oatmeal, cooked in milk, served with honey.  If you use half a cup of oatmeal to two cups of liquid, and cook it very slowly, it turns wonderfully creamy, and takes to honey very well.  This particular honey is very dark, with undernotes of chocolate and smoke.  It is the perfect winter honey.

More snow today, followed closely by freezing rain.  Fun!  Soup is on the schedule for dinner tonight, a perfect planning feat if I do say so myself.  Do you try to plan any specific meals for crappy weather days?

This entry was posted in Meat Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

