Comfort lunch….

I’m a little under the weather today, and after picking at my leftovers from last night for lunch, I felt totally not satisfied.  I’m starting to wonder if my food standards have become really really unhealthily high……or I am sick and picky…. or maybe both. Either way, I made myself a quick and comforting lunch:

Purple Carrot, Hard Boiled Egg, and Roasted Sweet Potato with Cayenne, Paprika, and Toasted Cheese.

I think the sweet potato was the really comforting part… though carrots, especially purple carrots that stain everything have become a household comfort recently.

Broiled Sweet Potato with Cheese

This type of sweet potato is called O’Henry.  It has white skin and white flesh.  I think I love every variety of sweet potato…. so no partiality here.   I had this guy already roasted (from a couple of nights ago- when we made the roasted sweet potato-squash-garlic mash) and leftover in the fridge.  I just cut it in half, sprinkled cayenne, paprika, and salt, and shredded some Atwell’s Gold from Narragansett Creamery on top, and broiled it until warm and toasty.  Quite delicious, and simple.

I know this won’t be enough for me to eat for the afternoon, so I hard-boiled more eggs and made some mayonnaise to mix together with some of our pickle relish to make egg salad for later and for a snack.

Homemade mayonnaise.... Theresa and I loosely follow Julia Child's foolproof mayo recipe. Though we don't add a ton of oil, since things like olive oil are precious commodities in our household.

My hope is to go back to nap after all this kitchen excitement, and be well rested for the last CSA distribution tomorrow.  I’m both excited and sad for the last distribution to come… a nice break, but very sad that I will not get to see all the really awesome people who grace our distribution until next June.  C’est la vie, and the circle of CSA life.

This entry was posted in Red Fire Farm, Vegetarian Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comfort lunch….

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    Maybe you’re under the weather just because it is close to the last one. Bummer. I love the line “the circle of CSA life”.

    • Thanks! You know, you might be right, I was feeling off and felt much better once I began setting up for the distribution. Go figure. Now that the distribution is over, I am pretty sad. Bummer indeed. But life goes on, and onto the next CSA! Our deep winter CSA starts in January!

Leave a Reply

