Figuring Out Salify and a Fall Craving Satisfied

Dinner last night was a pretty mellow (read: uninspired) meal that was easy to prepare and still satifying.  We had one exciting thing to try – salsify, aka oyster root.

Crustless Leek Quiche with Cheese and boiled salsify (oyster root) and sauteed pea tendrils with garlic and lemon.

Salsify/Oyster Root is a rather obscure vegetable that takes a long time to grow, but is really hardy and can be left in the ground all winter.  It has a really mild flavor that can be likened to oysters or artichoke hearts.  I think they had a vague sunchoke flavor, and are in fact a part of the sunflower family.  They are super tasty.  We decided to try them just boiled and pan-fried in a little butter and salt, so that we could really get a feel for the taste of the plant.  While not an amzing, knock-your-socks-off super-duper exotic experience, there was a subtlty to the root that was hard to describe.  Delicate, it could easily be lost.  Well prepared, it could shine.  We will have to look for this again in the future, to continue to experiment with this tasty root.

Dessert has been easy affairs, as Laura wants pears, and Theresa wants apples.

Laura's dessert: Broiled Pears and Taza Dark Chocolate

Very pretty, no?  It looked and smelled really good, with hot pear coming out of the toaster oven and melty chocolate.  So, why would Theresa pass this by for a boring old apple?

Goat Milk Caramel.

This.  I would have to say, if I was pressed to decide between caramel and chocolate for the rest of my life, I would have a really hard time.  My favorite sundaes have hot fudge and carmel.  I love a good carmel anything.  So, I was really sad that I was not going to be able to indulge in carmel apples very easily this fall, as they are one of my favorite fall treats (move over apple cider doughnuts!)

Fat Toad Caramel (cajeta) from Fat Toad Farm is divine.  I love love love the stuff.  I think I NEED to try the other three flavors; vanilla, cinnamon and coffee.  But for now, I will relish in apples with carmel.

Theresa's Dessert: Fresh Apple with Fat Toad Farm Caramel and Taza Dark Chocolate

This entry was posted in Desserts, Farms, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Meals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

