Succotash, Relish, French Veggies with Egg Sauce, and Breadmaking Updates

Phew! It’s been a crazy week.  Theresa has been ill from a terrible allergic reaction, of which I think only today she is starting to seem better- after many doctor visits.  I will say that we did not stick to our meal plan closely this week.  This is partly due to the fact that Theresa has been on a high dose of prednisone, which has changed her appetite.  Either way, we managed to eat some yummy things, and do some preserving.

On Wednesday night, we had Succotash for dinner.

Succotash, the wonderful amalgamation of high summer veggies.

This succotash was pretty much the same as our previous, from last week, just a different ratio of veggies.  We added wax beans, and a little bit of bell pepper, and didn’t use as much summer squash.  It is one of my favorite ways to eat okra. I still seasoned the dish with nothing other than with Worcestershire Sauce and salt and it was still just delicious.

I managed to make relish (one day this week- I don’t remember).

Cucumber veggie relish

I couldn’t find our recipe from last year, so I sort of made it up using some other relish recipes I got a hold of.  It tasted good to me in the end, though it might have needed more salt (I often don’t use enough salt by Theresa’s standards).

Cucumber Relish: (makes 8 pint jars of relish):

  • 3 onions
  • 4 carrots
  • 1 plant of celery
  • 2 pounds cucumbers
  • 4 cups of apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/4 cup of salt
  • peppercorns
  • mustard seeds

Directions:

  1. Sterilize jars and lids.
  2. Scrub and chop up vegetables.
  3. Combine vinegar, salt and sugar in a small saucepan and heat until boiling.
  4. Pack jars with vegetables (pack them well).
  5. Put 1/4 tsp of peppercorns and mustard seeds in each jar, ontop of the veggies.
  6. Pour hot vinegar solution into the jars until the liquid is about 1/2 inch below the rim.
  7. Cap as tightly as you can.
  8. Process in a boiling water-bath for 20 minutes.
  9. Take out jars, let cool on towels.
  10. Enjoy…. I’m looking forward to using this relish all year for good egg salads….. yum!

For Thursday dinner, we had French Veggie Saute over Wheatberries with Egg Sauce.

French Vegetable Saute over Cooked Wheatberries, with Fresh Tomato and Egg Sauce

So, this dish may sound a little weird.  It certainly did when Theresa said she wanted it for dinner.  However, we worked through her strange craving and managed to make a meal that actually really tasted good and had a wonderful combination of flavors.

French Veggie Saute: Serves 4

  • 1 tbsp of butter
  • 2 onions
  • 4 carrots
  • 2 fennel bulbs
  • 1 handful of wax beans
  • 3 potatoes
  • 1 tsp of bouillon
  • 2 tsp of herbs de provance
  • 3 chopped tomatoes
  • cooked wheatberries

Directions:

  1. Wash, and chop the vegetables.
  2. Saute the onions for 5 minutes, then add the carrot, fennel, potato, diluted bouillon, and herbs de provance.
  3. Cover and cook for 20 minutes, stirring and adding water to keep from burning on the bottom.
  4. When potatoes and carrots are just about done, add the wax beans.
  5. Cook until done.
  6. Serve on top of cooked wheatberries (boil for 45 minutes to 1 hour), which chopped tomatoes on top.

The Egg Sauce:

  • 5 hard boiled eggs, chopped
  • 2/3 cup of milk
  • 2 tbsp of butter
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 2 tsp mayonnaise
  • salt, pepper
  • 1/2 tsp bouillon

Directions:

  1. Saute chopped eggs in butter.
  2. Add milk, cook until about simmering.
  3. Process in a blender.
  4. Then add mustard, bouillon, mayo and salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Serve on top of French Vegetable Saute.

The Egg sauce sounds strange, but it is very good if you like the taste of hard boiled eggs and mayo combined.  It worked out fairly well for this meal.

Bread-making Update

I also made more bread this week- but excitingly, using a new tool.  A stand-mixer!

Our new stand mixer! Kitchenaide, Pro series!

Stephanie, our awesome friend, gave us the present of a really amazing, though huge, stand mixer, to fulfill our baking, and grain milling dreams!  I ordered the grain mill, and it should be coming soon.  But to get things started, I tried making bread with this amazing creation.

Using the dough hook, I put my normal wholewheat bread recipe in and set it to ‘dough hook mix.’

The normal soggy bread dough in the stand mixer, being 'hooked'

I added a little more flour (1/2 cup more) than normal until the dough looked right.  Then, Theresa and I ignored it for about 15 minutes, made ourselves chocolate pancakes (just normal whole wheat pancakes with cocoa powder added) and enjoyed our pancakes as the mixer hummed in the background.

Maybe I should call them cocoa pancakes..... with butter..mmmmm......

After enjoying our pancakes, I came back to the mixer and voila the dough had been ‘kneaded’ by the dough hook very well and became a lovely dough, perfect for bread.

Perhaps the best looking bread dough I have made yet with my super unrefined flour.

I set it up to bake  the dough in various forms (after some rising and a little more ‘kneading’).

Bread in various guises, rising to be baked.

I followed my normal bread recipe, and the bread turned out great.  I got a great consistent crumb, and it was very easy.  I may miss kneading dough by hand, but I think there are enough other recipes that do not require such long kneading (like crackers and pasta) that I will get my hand kneading ‘fix’ from.  I think that between the dough hook and the soon to come grain mill, the stand mixer is going to be my bread-making bosom buddy.  Thank you Stephanie!  I owe you lots of bread!

Today, I will be heading out to do the Red Fire Farm CSA distribution.  I’m excited to see what new veggies are coming our way this week!  We bulk ordered a bushel of tomatoes for canning and drying!  I’m so excited.  Also, Tomato Fest is tomorrow at Red Fire Farm, which I am certainly going to, and very excited for.  I will take pictures and post them over the weekend.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Preserving "Putting By", Recipes, Vegetarian Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

