Back on Track… CSA Goodies, Meal Plan and a Dream

So, the Lovely Locavore Ladies have survived friends and vacation, and are now back on track with our food year, little worse for the wear.  The CSA distribution this week was particularly generous.  Last week the truck was over an hour late.  This week, to avoid such a debacle, two trucks were sent out for the day.  This means that they packed the trucks with extra numbles for us, resulting in this lovely spread.

This week includes: Musk Melon, lettuce, heirloom tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, carrots, corn, summer squash, green beans, broccoli, radicchio, peppers, peaches, plums and watermelon

That’s a lot of food.  We also bulk ordered some ground cherries (or husk cherries) for preserving.  With all of this food, we made our meal plan!

It's great to be eating at home again.

I love eating at home.  I also love produce, but it is high season and it is starting to get overwhelming.  I think I would go crazy as a farmer during the peak of summer.  Case in point, I had a dream, bordering on nightmare, that had to do with produce.

Laura and I were in the car, driving through a really deep forest.  There was no direct light, and there was no light at the end of the road leading out of the forest.  When I looked out the window, I realized that the whole forest was made of produce.  Carrots for tree trunks!  Giant Broccoli!  Huge bushes of lettuce!  Watermelon hanging from trees made of summer squash!  Potatoes oozing up from the ground like giant boulders!  When I pointed this out to Laura, she immediately stopped the car and insisted we get out and collect as much food as we could manage.  When we stepped out, dozens of normal sized people bearing baskets of produce emerged from the dark produce forest.  We stuffed the car, but more people kept coming with more vegetables.  Laura kept yelling ‘We need to preserve them all!  We will preserve them all!”  The forest kept looming in, closer and closer until I felt like I was smothering in vegetables.

I woke up to find that I had our 14 pound cat on my chest, but I needed to go to the kitchen to assure myself that our produce wasn’t reproducing in the night.  And today, we are conquering the preserving.  Lots to report on later!

I leave you with a picture of Marion helping us husk Ground Cherries.

This entry was posted in Meal Plans, Red Fire Farm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

