Food Inc. – The Lovely Locavore Ladies Review

Although just about everyone and their dog has seen Food Inc. your intrepid Lovely Locavore Ladies had not watched it (or even read the book) until this Tuesday night.  I know, I know.  We were happy to finally view the film- many people have recommended it to us.  We finally found the time to watch it.

So, what were our thoughts?

Laura:  I think that the film was a very sophisticated and palatable means of discussing the consequences of industrial food.  Most of the information was not new to us, but the presentation of the material was excellent. The film appealed to human emotion, made a very simple yet convincing case for animal and factory worker well fare.  It was a little light on environmental issues, but I think that it kept to the issues that people are more likely to respond to. It did not provide a lot of evidence for a lot of its claims, but I’ve heard the book did.  Still, I think it made a compelling emotional point that can resonate well with a lot of people. There were certainly enough haunting images to make you think even harder when you pass through the aisles of the supermarket.

I was also really psyched to see footage of Polyface farm and Joel Salatin after reading the Omnivore’s Dilemma. It made me happy to think of all of the farms that I thus far have visited and how much I appreciate the simple, clean, and respectful truth that farming can be, regardless of the misleading agricultural veil used by the industrial food industry.

I would recommend the film if you haven’t seen it, not only to people on this side of the choir, but also to those who might just be getting their feet wet with these issues.

Theresa:  I felt like the film was a good introduction to those who might not be completely intimated with the subject of our food system and want to get a quick overview of some of the broad ideas, as well as a healthy reminder for those of us who know this information from other routes.  Some may find the movie a little slow, especially is they are used to the hyper-paced entertainment most movies currently are.  I thought that was a good, steady pace, with enough time for people to really think about what was being presented.

Another issue I have heard is that there is a lack of scientific evidence present, and this is a very emotions-based film.  True, but talking heads of scientists is even more dull than what the movie already presents, and the movie is supposed to pique interest to go and find out more information.  Scientific journals are hardly riviting, but if your emotionally invested in a cause, you may take the time to understand them, or at least read a book instead of watching a movie.

Over all I enjoyed the experience, even if I had already known most of the information presented.  It was a healthy refresher, and reminder of why we chose to go local for a year.

This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food Inc. – The Lovely Locavore Ladies Review

  1. Sondra says:

    As Gary Hirshberg pointed out in the movie, preaching to the converted doesn’t change anything. I believe Robert Kenner made this movie for mainstream audiences, to spark a grass roots movement that will destroy the power of the commercial food oligopolies, and force needed changes.

    “Food, Inc.” is common ground for initiating discussions among all of the masses. I’ve muscled people in my life to watch “Food, Inc.”, and then used it as a basis for additional discussions. Not everyone has the time and resources to live completely off the commercial food grid (including me), but if everyone who sees the movie at least begins with incremental changes, like purchasing organic foods, attending farmers’ markets, and making their grocers aware that they want more options, then Robert Kenner will achieve his goals.

    It’s already working. I have 3 local grocery stores. I can purchase Certified Organic, somewhat local dairy products from all of them. Two of the stores even carry their own store brands that are Certified Organic. One of the stores carries Certified Humane chicken and eggs. The amount of local, Certified Organic produce is needs improvement, but I keep asking. 😉 Within the last two months, I discovered Certified Organic milk at my local Costco, which I don’t consider as one of the three local grocery stores. Last week I discovered Certified Organic eggs (a 24 pack) at Costco.

    Given the changes that have taken place in grocery stores, I believe that Robert Kenner is accomplishing his goals, and I’m enjoying watching the movement grow. Because of this, I give the movie my highest rating.

    • Hi Sondra-
      Thanks for your thoughtful reply! We appreciate your thoughts immensely, and it is great to point out that this movie has added to the movement in the direction of organic, local, humane, and transparent food. We understand that not everyone can live off of the normal food grid and available resources, and we really support those who make the decision to make one or two changes for the better. We do what we do to see if we can do it. Food is also our hobby and our life, if you haven’t noticed! 🙂

      If we can set the seed in one person’s mind, and make them say “Hey, I can do something, I can be empowered in my decisions”, we accomplished our goal. Robert Kenner had the ability to reach a larger audience, and we support and applaud his efforts! We look forward to watching “Fresh”, a follow-up of sorts, showing the good things being done in the food system.

      Has anyone seen “Fresh” yet? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

